Articles

Vintage Lens Love

In Photography on June 6, 2011 by eongxien


Recently, got bitten by the eBay bug and out of 2 separate almost-impulse purchases, I bagged a 24mm f/2.8 AI and a 105mm f/2.5 AI-S lenses. The reason I got the 24mm was to have a wide-angle lens on my FM2n. On a full-frame camera, the focal length was wide enough for my taste without distorting the perspective too much. On the other hand, the 105mm focal length is completely new to me. Back in its heyday (Production for AI and AI-S lens have been discontinued) the 105mm f/2.5 was popular for portrait work due to its sharpness and pleasing bokeh [The 105mm has been obsolete these days due to rising popularity of the 70-200mm f/2.8 lens]. I’m happy to report that thus far, the results from the 105mm has been brilliant.

Below are test shots taken with my D90, where 2 of which are taken with the 24mm while the rest with the 105mm.

No prize guessing which is my favourite lens. =)










Leave a Reply

